Programming & Level Designing Tower Offensive, Pt 2

So it’s time for an update on what I did last week.

I said in the last post that I would write from the office, apparently I lied because I’m at home writing this now, two days late as well, I blame Easter… Back to what I did last week, It wasn’t much because Easter and relatives and family. I spent most of my time with bug fixing our GUI but I had time some smaller things as well. I managed to add some feedback to the Hero Ability GUI button and hotkey for it (It flashes when it is ready to use) and I also started to improve in the GUI layout, it became better but I’m not satisfied with it yet. I started to balance the enemies (run speed & hp) and towers(buy costs, fire rate, damage dealing & similar stuff). I must say it’s hard to get it good,especially with our game, because a lot depens on how good the matching board looks in the start of the level. Some times I won with ease and other times I lost even before I had a chance to place a tower( I might have exaggerated a little). So how do we solve something like that when the matching board is all random(we are going to play around with it later, see what happens when it’s not so random)? Well by lowering the cost for all towers and trying to estimate how much resources a player gets when he owns special lands that provides bonuses and thinking of how effective the towers would be with a few upgrades on them(We didn’t have tower upgrades implemented when I did this, but we got them today) and taking in account how much resources an average matching board would give in the start of the level and at last adding hero abilities to it. With that in my head I changed some numbers and I think I got quite close to a good set up, It will of course need a lot of more work before it becomes good, but I don’t think I can do much better without having all the things needed implemented. So I continued to work on level four and then the week was over, I wont tell you what I have been doing yesterday or today, that will be in the next post and It will have an ”Before and after” image, I think you are going to like the result 🙂

Picture for this week is going to be of my idea to our GUI that I didn’t became satisfied with it. It is a clumsy ”made in paint” image I did so I could share my idea with our producer,  It looks horrible! 😀

 

GuiLayoutproposal

 

 

 

 

 

Lämna en kommentar